DB Pirates Award nominations for 2019-20 Season now open.

Wow. What a crazy year for all of us. Sadly most competition has ended prematurely as we all try to isolate and stay safe from the Covid-19 Virus.

However, there is still reason to celebrate.

We would like to continue to acknowledge our best players, coaches and contributors to our teams, and are now asking teams to vote, as in other years. We are now seeking nominations to the list of awards shown below and kindly ask that they be submitted to admin@dbpirates.com no later than Friday 24th April. Winners will be announced shortly after.


Pirate of the Year (The POTY)
An award initiated in 2012-2013, the POTY is the Club’s second highest honour and reflects the past seasons’ commitment to, and success in, sport, club management and spirit. It is open to all sections and all levels (it has never been awarded to a member of the Board or its historic equivalent) – Nominations can be sent by Club members and the award is decided by the board and ratified by the Chairman.

Chairman’s Cup
This is the Club’s highest honour and is for exceptional services to the Club. Awarded for services on and off the pitch, through coaching, operational and administrative support, and through contribution to the Club’s development, it is presented at the Chairman’s sole discretion.

“Beyond the Call of Duty”
This award is presented to those who time and time again have gone above and beyond the role they “agreed” to. Their contribution versus what is expected of a volunteer, whether it be as a coach, team manager, organiser, representative or supporter deserves to be recognised. The impact they have made on the players and the Club is sometimes obvious but more often than not, their work and dedication is known and noticed by just a few.

Pirates Dragonboater of the Year

Pirates Netballer of the Year

Coaches of the Year
(from each section)
These awards are a reflection of the contribution to the Club’s success by all the sections. These awards go to inspiring, committed and “professional” coaches who, through their hard work, have moulded the Pirate Spirit and Winning teams – Nominations are sent in by the Heads of Section and the awards are decided by the board and ratified by the Chairman.

  • Coach of the Year – Netball
  • Coach of the Year – Hockey
  • Coach of the Year – Mini Rugby
  • Coach of the Year – Youth Rugby (Boys and Girls)

Senior Players’ Player of the Year
As selected by the Senior rugby section.

The Kay Booker Spirit of Rugby Award

The Leonard Cup
Awarded to the best all round mens youth rugby player or coach, who embodies the virtues of the Club, through to a senior level.

The Ryan Cup
Awarded to the best all round ladies youth rugby player or coach, who embodies the virtues of the Club, through to a senior level.


Send us your nominations here: admin@dbpirates.com